Connect with us


Fight Booth PW Awards: Top 50 Male Wrestlers of 2017



After a full week of #FightBoothPWAwards Mania, we are down to our final two—Male and Female Wrestler of the Year. We’ll get right to it with the results of our ‘Top 50 Male Wrestlers of 2017’ vote; feel free to stick around for a little bit of explanation, history and statistics below the list.

1. Kazuchika Okada
2. Kenny Omega
3. AJ Styles
4. Tetsuya Naito
5. Roman Reigns
6. Pete Dunne
7. Cody
8. Kevin Owens
9. Braun Strowman
10. The Miz
11. Samoa Joe
12. Marty Scurll
13. Shinsuke Nakamuara
14. Brock Lesnar
15. Neville
16. Seth Rollins
17. Zack Sabre Jr.
18. Matt Riddle
19. Adam Cole
20. Tyler Bate
21. Minoru Suzuki
22. Andrade Almas
23. Hiromu Takahashi
24. Finn Balor
25. Ricochet
26. Jinder Mahal
27. Will Ospreay
28. Keith Lee
29. Johnny Gargano
30. Alesiter Black
31. Dean Ambrose
32. John Cena
33. Dalton Castle
35. Bobby Roode
36. Tomohiro Ishii
37. Eli Drake
38. Chris Jericho
39. Kota Ibushi
40. Drew McIntyre
42. Trevor Lee
43. Jiro Kuroshio
44. Hiroshi Tanahashi
45. Dante Fox
46. Shuji Ishikawa
47. Travis Banks
48. Chuck Taylor
49. Cesaro
50. Kento Miyahara

This was very much a three man race between Okada, Omega and Styles. Here’s a look at the point totals for the top ten with the points accumulated by each wrestler followed by first place votes in parentheses.

1. Kazuchika Okada – 284 (3)
2. Kenny Omega – 278 (4)
3. AJ Styles – 272 (5)
4. Tetsuya Naito – 208 (1)
5. Roman Reigns – 157 (1)
6. Pete Dunne – 153 (1)
7. Cody – 133
8. Kevin Owens – 132
9. Braun Strowman – 113
10. The Miz – 105

As a part of four of the top six matches of the year, Okada won by a slight margin over Omega, who shared the ring with Okada in three of those matches. Okada continued his IWGP Heavyweight Championship reign through all of 2016, breaking multiple records in the process. As of this writing, he now holds the record for combined days as champion (at just 30-years-old mind you) and longest single reign as champ.

Styles, last year’s Male Wrestler of the Year award winner, caped off another incredible year when he captured the WWE Championship for the second time in November, becoming the first wrestler to win a WWE World Title overseas. While he nearly pulled off the repeat with the most first place votes out of anyone on this year’s list, he’d come up just short, earning third place just behind Okada and Omega.

Naito, Cody, Kevin Owens and The Miz would all re-enter the top 10 this year while Reigns would jump up fifteen spots from 20th to 5th this year. Pete Dunne and Braun Strowman both made their debuts on our year-end list at 6th and 9th respectively.

Check back tomorrow for our final Fight Booth PW Award of 2017—Female Wrestler of the Year

Dave has been covering Pro Wrestling and Mixed Martial Arts for various websites since 2010. He currently runs both FightBooth and FightBoothPW with the help of some lovely and talented people.