Connect with us


NJPW Comparative Championship Reigns



After the G1 Special in San Francisco there will be a long wait until we see another championship defended so I thought it’d be fun to look at the current reigns of the titles on the line this weekend and compare them to both the best and worst reign in the title’s history.

NEVER Openweight Championship
Established October 5th, 2012
Hirooki Goto (19th Champion) vs Jeff Cobb
Longest Reign: 314 Days – Masato Tanaka (1st Champion)
Shortest Reign: 8 Days – Michael Elgin (18th Champion)
Average Reign: 113 Days
Most Defenses: 4 – (Masato Tanaka (1st Champion), Tomohiro Ishii (3rd Champion), Minoru Suzuki (16th Champion))
Fewest Defneses: 0 – 6 Different Occasions
Average Defenses: 1.72

Hirooki Goto has been NEVER Openweight Champion for 20 days but has yet to log a defense. This is Goto’s third reign as the champion.

IWGP Tag Team Championship
Established December 12th, 1985
The Young Bucks (80th Champions) vs EVIL & SANADA
Longest Reign: 564 Days – Bad Intentions (57th Champions)
Shortest Reign: 6 Days – Keiji Muto & Shiro Koshinaka (4th Champions)
Average Reign: 147 Days
Most Defenses: 10 – Bad Intentions (57th Champions)
Fewest Defenses: 0 – 20 Different Occasions
Average Defenses: 1.99

The Young Bucks have been IWGP Tag Team Champions for 28 days but have yet to log a defense. They are seven time IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions.

IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship
Established February 6th, 1986
Hiromu Takahashi (81st Champion) vs Dragon Lee
Longest Reign: 628 Days – Jushin Thunder Liger (21st Champion)
Shortest Reign: 7 Days – Juventud Guerrera (36th Champion)
Average Reign: 146 Days
Most Defenses: 11 – Heat (46th Champion)
Fewest Defenses: 0 – 13 Different Occasions
Average Defenses: 2.49

Hiromu Takahashi has been IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion for 28 days and has one successful defense. This is his second reign as the champion.

IWGP United States Heavyweight Championship
Established May 12th, 2017
Jay White (2nd Champion) vs Juice Robinson
Longest Reign: 210 Days – Kenny Omega (1st Champion)
Shortest Reign: 210 Days – Kenny Omega (1st Champion)
Average Reign: 210 Days – Kenny Omega (1st Champion)
Most Defenses: 4 – Kenny Omega (1st Champion)
Fewest Defenses: 4 – Kenny Omega (1st Champion)
Average Defenses: 4

Jay White has been IWGP U.S. Heavyweight Champion for 160 days and has three successful defenses. One more win would tie him for the most defenses alongside inaugural champion, Kenny Omega.

IWGP Heavyweight Championship
Established June 12th, 1987
Kenny Omega (66th Champion) vs Cody
Longest Reign: 720 Days – Kazuchika Okada (65th Champion)
Shortest Reign: 16 Days – Kensuke Sasaki (36th Champion)
Average Reign: 170 Days
Most Defenses: 12 – Kazuchika Okada (65th Champion)
Fewest Defenses: 0 – 14 Different Occasions
Average Defenses: 2.72

Kenny Omega has been IWGP Heavyweight Champion for 28 days but has yet to log a defense. This is his first reign as the champion.

Along with being FightBoothPW's editor for NJPW, Robert McCauley also covers show reviews for the key promotions across Japan.