Connect with us

Smackdown

Video: Baron Corbin cashes in his MITB contract

Published

on

Baron Corbin made a decision that landed him on the wrong side of history tonight.

Corbin, one of two 2017 MITB contract holders (Carmella being the other), saw an opportunity inside of the Dunkin Donuts Center in Providence, Rhode Island after he interfered with tonight’s main event between John Cena and current WWE Champion Jinder Mahal.

After leaving the ring with his briefcase in tow, a light bulb went off inside of Corbin’s head when he saw a beaten Mahal sprawled out on the canvas. Corbin quickly returned to the ring, demanding the referee to ring the bell and start a match between him and Mahal for the world title. For whatever reason, the referee would stall, waiting for Mahal to collect himself while Corbin attempted to grow eyes in the back of his head with Cena still lurking. Unfortunately for him, Cena would distract him right after the bell rang and Mahal would get to quick roll up to retain his title. Corbin joins Cena and Damien Sandow as the only men in history with unsuccessful MITB cash ins.

Corbin now heads into SummerSlam with with an opportunity to redeem himself in a singles match against Cena while Mahal will defend his WWE Championship against Shinsuke Nakaura in the Smackdown Live main event of the show.

image credit – WWE

Trending